Cookie policy: This site uses cookies (small files stored on your computer) to simplify and improve your experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. For more information please take a look at our terms and conditions. Some parts of the site may not work properly if you choose not to accept cookies.


Subscribe or Register

Existing user? Login

2013 RPS award winners announced

By News team

Eleven members of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society were handed awards this evening (8 September 2013) at the RPS conference annual dinner in Birmingham, attended by around 500 guests.

Excellence across the whole pharmacy profession was acknowledged, with chief executive of the RPS Helen Gordon saying she was delighted to recognise the achievements of members. “The innovative and proactive approach they demonstrate towards improving patient care is genuinely inspiring,” she added.

Two members received a lifetime achievement award: Nicholas Barber, director of research and evaluation at The Health Foundation; and Eric Tomlinson, chief innovation officer at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Centre in the US.

A special recognition award was given to the UK armed forces operational pharmacy team in Afghanistan, which was jointly endorsed by the RPS and the UK Clinical Pharmacy Association.

Chief pharmacist at ActiveCare Pharmacy, in Hong Kong, Peter Suen picked up the leadership in pharmacy award while Chris Howland-Harris, superintendent pharmacist at Ashgrove Pharmacy, was presented with the public health pharmacist of the year award.

Local practice forum of the year was awarded to Aneurin Bevan LPF in Wales, led by Mike Curson, head of pharmacy and medicines management at Aneurin Bevan Health Board.  

The excellence in education award was given to Barry Jubraj, lead pharmacist for academic studies and professional development at Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust. Pharmaceutical scientist of the year was awarded to David Cowan, director of the Drug Control Centre, Department of Forensic and Analytical Science, King's College London.

Sue Shaw, advanced renal services pharmacist at Royal Derby Hospital, was announced as clinical pharmacist of the year, while preregistration trainee pharmacist of the year was given to Lauren Rose at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Finally, Sara Dhanji, an undergraduate at University College London School of Pharmacy, was named student of the year, a joint award between the RPS and the British Pharmaceutical Students’ Association.

Citation: The Pharmaceutical Journal DOI: 10.1211/PJ.2013.11125318

Have your say

For commenting, please login or register as a user and agree to our Community Guidelines. You will be re-directed back to this page where you will have the ability to comment.

Recommended from Pharmaceutical Press

RPS publications

Pharmaceutical Press is the publishing division of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society, and is a leading provider of authoritative pharmaceutical information used throughout the world.


Search an extensive range of the world’s most trusted resources

Powered by MedicinesComplete
  • Print
  • Share
  • Comment
  • Save
  • Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Supplementary images

  • /files/rps-pjonline/180_IMG_4807

Newsletter Sign-up

Want to keep up with the latest news, comment and CPD articles in pharmacy and science? Subscribe to our free alerts.