Cookie policy: This site uses cookies (small files stored on your computer) to simplify and improve your experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. For more information please take a look at our terms and conditions. Some parts of the site may not work properly if you choose not to accept cookies.


Subscribe or Register

Existing user? Login


Product update

December 2015: SMC decisions

The Scottish Medicines Consortium has accepted the following medicines for use in NHS Scotland for particular indications: efavirenz (Sustiva; Bristol-Myers Squibb); glatiramer acetate (Copaxone; Teva); naloxegol (Moventig; AstraZeneca); ceritinib (Zykadia; Novartis).

Gefitinib (Iressa; AstraZeneca), ivermectin (Soolantra; Galderma), lenalidomide (Revlimid; Celgene) and atomoxetine (Strattera; Eli Lilly) oral solution have been accepted for restricted use. Co-careldopa (Duodopa; AbbVie), denosumab (Xgeva; Amgen) and anakinra (Kineret; Swedish Orphan) are not recommended for use.

Citation: The Pharmaceutical Journal DOI: 10.1211/PJ.2015.20200247

Have your say

For commenting, please login or register as a user and agree to our Community Guidelines. You will be re-directed back to this page where you will have the ability to comment.

Recommended from Pharmaceutical Press

RPS publications

Pharmaceutical Press is the publishing division of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society, and is a leading provider of authoritative pharmaceutical information used throughout the world.

  • Print
  • Share
  • Comment
  • Save
  • Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Newsletter Sign-up

Want to keep up with the latest news, comment and CPD articles in pharmacy and science? Subscribe to our free alerts.