Cookie policy: This site uses cookies (small files stored on your computer) to simplify and improve your experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. For more information please take a look at our terms and conditions. Some parts of the site may not work properly if you choose not to accept cookies.

  • Tribute: Norma Margaret Irvine

    By Frank Bayford

    I was concerned when I learned that Norma had been admitted to hospital with the coronavirus infection, and then it came as a great shock when I was told later that she had passed away. Although our paths had never crossed professionally, she was a near neighbour living only a few doors away. On many occasions, she would stop for a lengthy chat when I was pottering about in my front garden. She was a friendly and kind person and always showed a real interest in people. When a relative ...

  • Deaths: Norma Margaret Irvine

    On 13 April 2020, Norma Margaret Irvine MRPharmS, aged 74 years, of Enfield, Middlesex. Mrs Irvine registered with the Society in 1968. After retiring from her pharmacy career, she took up a volunteer post at the Royal Pharmaceutical Society museum, helping to log and archive artefacts. 

  • Deaths: Graham Alan Hopkins

    On 28 March 2020, Graham Alan Hopkins, aged 78 years, of Cheltenham, Gloucestershire. Mr Hopkins was a former member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. 

  • Tribute: Philip Kerslake-Smith

    By Penny Buckle

    Dad joined the army straight from school and spent the immediate post-war period in the Netherlands and Germany as a driver and interpreter. He then came back to the UK and started studying for his pharmacy qualifications at the Northern Polytechnic in Holloway Road, London.

  • Deaths: Philip Kerslake-Smith

    On 3 March 2020, Philip Kerslake-Smith MRPharmS, aged 94 years, of Hatfield, Hertfordshire. Mr Kerslake-Smith registered with the Society in 1951. 

  • Tribute: Joanne Catherine Martin

    By Peter Curphey, Andy Husband, Barbara Wensworth, Damian Day

    It was clear in 1992/1993, after graduating from what is now Liverpool John Moores University, that Joanne’s destiny was to be in the education and training of pharmacists and pharmacy staff.

  • Deaths: Joanne Catherine Martin

    On 4 March 2020, Joanne Catherine Martin MRPharmS, aged 51 years, of London. Ms Martin registered with the Society in 1993.  

  • Tribute: Ernest Oldcorn

    By Alan Rogers

    Ernest Oldcorn qualified just after the end of the Second World War and was called up for service in the Queen Alexandra’s Military Hospital in London’s Millbank. Back in ‘Civvy Street’, he joined Timothy Whites and Taylors, working mainly in the West Country, before eventually being appointed territorial general manager in Plymouth. He moved to Virginia Water in Surrey in 1956, and was made a senior director in 1964. When Boots merged with Timothy Whites in 1968, he briefly left pharmacy ...

  • Deaths: Ernest Oldcorn

    On 14 April 2020, Ernest Oldcorn, aged 96 years, of Virginia Water, Surrey. Mr Oldcorn registered with the Society in 1945 and left in 1988. 

  • Deaths: Geoffrey Swift

    On 25 March 2020, Geoffrey Swift MRPharmS, aged 85 years, of Widnes, Cheshire. Mr Swift registered with the Society in 1955, and was recently recognised for 65 years of membership.

  • Deaths: David Wood

    On 12 April 2020, David Wood MRPharmS, aged 66 years, of Lanarkshire, Scotland. Dr Wood registered with the Society in 1976. 

  • Deaths: Rodney George Tate

    On 25 April 2020, Rodney George Tate MRPharmS, aged 85 years, of Anglesey, Wales. Mr Tate registered with the Society in 1962. 

  • Tribute: Neil Chapman

    By John H. Perrin

    I first met Neil in 1956 when we shared a room in an old house in Finsbury Park, London. We were two boys from the Midlands, both with non-affluent parents, who were about to become first-year students at The School of Pharmacy. Sharing a room was the start of our lifelong friendship.

  • Tribute: Neil Chapman

    By Mike Smith

    Neil was a great friend and a highly valued colleague. He was an exceptional pharmacist and, throughout his distinguished career, he was greatly respected by colleagues and other medical professionals alike.

  • Deaths: Neil Chapman

    On 11 April 2020, Neil Chapman, aged 82 years, of County Durham. Mr Chapman was a former member and later Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. 

  • Deaths: Janet Williams

    On 27 March 2020, Janet Williams, aged 88 years, of Sleaford, Lincolnshire. Ms Williams was a former member of The Royal Pharmaceutical Society. 

  • Deaths: Richard James Bryant

    On 13 April 2020, Richard James Bryant MRPharmS, aged 71 years, of Ilford, Essex. Mr Bryant registered with the Society in 1971. 

  • Tribute: Kouser Chaudry

    By Assaf Chaudry

    On 3 April 2020, Kouser Chaudry sadly passed away from terminal breast cancer aged 54 years. 

  • Deaths: Kouser Chaudry

    On 3 April 2020, Kouser Chaudry MRPharmS, aged 54 years, of High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. Mrs Chaudry registered with the Society in 1987. 

  • Deaths: Janet Luke

    On 11 November 2019, Janet Luke MRPharmS, aged 76 years, of Milton Keynes. Mrs Luke registered with the Society in 1964. 

  • English Pharmacy Board meeting: 29 April 2020

    The English Pharmacy Board meeting, to be held on 29 April 2020, will be going ahead as a confidential meeting only. The meeting will take place in a shortened format between 10:00 and 13:00, focusing on COVID-19. Regrettably, owing to the current circumstances, members will not be able to attend the board meeting on this occasion. 

  • Deaths: Vijaya Norman

    On 8 April 2020, Vijaya Norman MRPharmS, aged 52 years, of Aberdeen, Scotland. Ms Norman registered with the Society in 1997. 

  • Deaths: Gordon William Sinclair Davie

    On 5 April 2020, Gordon William Sinclair Davie MRPharmS, aged 87 years, of Bromley. Mr Davie registered with the Society in 1955. 

  • Deaths: Joseph Patrick Lamont

    On 3 April 2020, Joseph Patrick Lamont, aged 91 years, of Kirkcaldy. Mr Lamont was a former member of the Society. 

  • Deaths: Yusuf Mahamed Motala

    On 21 March 2020, Yusuf Mahamed Motala MRPharmS, aged 87 years, of London. Mr Motala registered with the Society in 1962. 

  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society AGM: 29 April 2020

    The 2020 Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) Annual General Meeting (AGM) will still be taking place.

Other announcements

Written Medicine MPU

Newsletter Sign-up

Want to keep up with the latest news, comment and CPD articles in pharmacy and science? Subscribe to our free alerts.

Pharmaceutical Journal Jobs